The Executive Council is a 11-member body elected every 4 years by the CICC General Assembly, to oversee the implementation of its resolutions and the general management of the church from its headquarters in Takamoa. The current council composition is as follows:

  • Rev. Tuaine Ngametua – President
  • Junior Ngatokorua – Legal Adviser
  • Tangi Tereapii – Treasurer
  • Tinirau Soatini – Representative, Committee of Ministers
  • Rev. Vaka Ngaro – Representative, Rarotonga CICC Council
  • Rev. Panu Rouru – Representative, Southern Group Islands
  • Makirere Poila – Representative, Northern Group Islands
  • Rev. Tere Marsters – Principal, Takamoa Theological College
  • Rev. Oirua Rasmussen – Representative, NZ branches 
  • Mona Ioane - Representative, Australia branches
  • Nga Mataio – General Secretary


The council meets on average twice a month to discuss and make decisions on prevailing issues to do with the welfare and development of the church. The council also oversees the church’s partnership arrangements with the Uniting Church of Australia, Presbyterian Church of NZ, Congregational Union of NZ, Pacific Conference of Churches, Cook Islands Fellowship of Melbourne, and the Maohi Protestant Church of French Polynesia. Office holders in the CICC branches are most welcome to make presentations in the council meetings. Arrangements can be made with the General Secretary.

Church Visitation

The Executive Council has a visitation programme to the church branches within the Cook Islands, New Zealand and Australia. The programme includes meetings with members of the branch, and workshops covering areas of need. Given the number of church branches (60) and their distribution as above, branches can be visited approximately every 5 years.

Powers of the Executive Council

The council members’ powers as stipulated in the CICC constitution are valid when the assembly is not in session. When the assembly is convened for its normal week-long session every 2 years, the decision making process reverts back to the assembly. The council takes over again on behalf of the assembly the day after the assembly closes.

Contact for More information

The contact details of the individual council members are contained in the “Contact Addresses of CICC Ministers and Officials,” version 2018. This can be found elsewhere on this website. Otherwise, queries can be directed to the General Secretary as below:

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (wk) or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (hm)

General Inquiries

General enquiries – General Secretary on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or phone 26547.

Enquiries on the individual church branches – please use the document “Contact Addresses of CICC Ministers and Officials” which can be found elsewhere on this website.

Enquiries on the church departments (youth, publications, social welfare, evangelism) – as above